Tag Archives: Fretless guitar

Fretless electric guitar project recordings released

A set of studio recordings of five of the selected works from the fretless guitar call, along with scores, plus live videos from the premiere at Colchester Arts Centre, are now available here on Rich Perks’ website.

CNM concerts this week in Colchester

Join us this week for a bonus selection of new music events in Colchester:

Piano Project 2015bg_img_v3_flyer

7:30pm on Wednesday 4th November at the Swinburne Hall, Colchester Institute, Sheepen Rd, Colchester, Essex, CO3 3LL; tickets £5 on the door or via the CMPA Box Office (01206 712 999; creativeartslive@colchester.ac.uk).

An evening of new music for aspirant pianists. Dylan Christopher and colleagues will be presenting a carefully selected programme of attractive and exciting new works for learners of ABRSM Grade 1-5 standard. The concert will be of particular interest to piano teachers, students, those with an interest in music education, and anyone who likes good piano music. Buy tickets here.

Fretless Architecture: Rich Perks and vLookup TrioFretless_architecture_poster_col_310715-web

Doors 7:30pm (starts 8pm), Thursday 5th November 2015, Colchester Arts Centre, Church St. Colchester CO1 1NF. Tickets £7/£6: Box Office 01206 500900 / colchesterartscentre.com.

New constructions for solo fretless electric guitar, plus explorations from avant-garde noise to funk-rock for fretless electic guitar, trumpet, percussion, effects and live electronics. Exploring the frontier between left-field jazz and contemporary art-music with Rich Perks (guitar), Andrew Hall (trumpet) and Tom Atherton (percussion). Buy tickets here.

Fretless architecture: Rich Perks + vLookup at Colchester Arts Centre

Fretless_architecture_poster_col_310715-webWe are delighted to announce that the first performance in the fretless electric guitar project will be on Thursday 5th November 2015 at Colchester Arts Centre.

The aim of this project, led by guitarist and composer Rich Perks is to develop a recital repertoire for a new instrument – the fretless electric guitar. The concert will present five works selected from the call for scores:

Turbulence by Julia Usher

Rhapsody No. 1 by Tyler Minshew

Elephants by Phil Maguire

Divisions by Andrew Hall

Deadly Sinner by Josh Trotter

Juxtaposed with these will be a set from the vLookup Trio. Comprising Rich Perks (fretless electric guitar), Andrew Hall (trumpet) and Tom Atherton (percussion), this group explores pieces which combine pre-composed material with improvisation in styles that range from avant-garde noise to funk-rock, whilst also pushing the sonic possibilities of a trio instrumentation by incorporating effects and live electronics. Listen to some recordings of the Trio here.

See here for full details of the performance.