Fretless architecture: Rich Perks + vLookup at Colchester Arts Centre

Fretless_architecture_poster_col_310715-webWe are delighted to announce that the first performance in the fretless electric guitar project will be on Thursday 5th November 2015 at Colchester Arts Centre.

The aim of this project, led by guitarist and composer Rich Perks is to develop a recital repertoire for a new instrument – the fretless electric guitar. The concert will present five works selected from the call for scores:

Turbulence by Julia Usher

Rhapsody No. 1 by Tyler Minshew

Elephants by Phil Maguire

Divisions by Andrew Hall

Deadly Sinner by Josh Trotter

Juxtaposed with these will be a set from the vLookup Trio. Comprising Rich Perks (fretless electric guitar), Andrew Hall (trumpet) and Tom Atherton (percussion), this group explores pieces which combine pre-composed material with improvisation in styles that range from avant-garde noise to funk-rock, whilst also pushing the sonic possibilities of a trio instrumentation by incorporating effects and live electronics. Listen to some recordings of the Trio here.

See here for full details of the performance.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: